WISCASSET SELECTBOARD TAX ASSESSORS AND OVERSEERS OF THE POOR JUNE 18, 2024 IN PERSON AND VIA ZOOM

Preliminary Minutes

Present: James Andretta, Pam Dunning, Terry Heller, Bill Maloney, Chair Sarah Whitfield

and Town Manager Dennis Simmons

Dennis Simmons called the meeting to order at 6 p.m.

- 1. Pledge of Allegiance
- 2. Election of Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Board
- a. Nomination for Chair of the Wiscasset Selectboard: **Bill Maloney moved to nominate Sarah** Whitfield as Chair of the Board. Vote 5-0-0. Terry Heller moved to nominate Pam Dunning as Vice Chair of the Board. Vote 5-0-0.
- 3. Approval of Treasurer's Warrants
- a. Terry Heller moved to approve the Payroll Warrants of June 7 and June 14, 2024. Vote 5-0-0.
- b. Terry Heller moved to approve the Accounts Payable Warrants of June 11 and June 18, 2024. Vote 5-0-0.
- 4. Approval of Minutes

Bill Maloney moved to approve the minutes as changed. Vote 5-0-0.

- <u>5. Special Presentations or Awards</u> none
- 6. Committee Appointments
- a. Waterfront Committee appointment discussion: Simmons announced that Susan Robson is retiring from the Waterfront Committee, leaving four open seats. **Bill Maloney moved to reappoint Frank Sprague and Dick Forest and appoint Eric Cousineau and James Kochan to the Waterfront Committee. Vote 4-1-0 (Heller opposed.)**
- 7. Public Hearings none
- 8. Public Comment none

9. Department Head or Committee Chair

a. Department Head Monthly Reports
Sarah Whitfield thanked all the town employees and/or departments who had helped with
Wormfest.

10. Unfinished Business

- a. Wawenock Block update: The board had received a video as well as an update. Work continues at full speed despite the challenges the aged building presents. The scaffolding on the left will be removed first followed by the right side as soon as recently discovered additional needed work on the right side is complete. The video is on the town website.
- b. Letter of Intent-Pleasant Street Extension Restoration Project: Leslie Roberts and Cassandra Rose presented an update on the Pleasant Street extension naturalization project. In view of the recent high tides, the project had been changed. The revised plan will include removal of the gravel roadway and the area will be replanted with native wetland plants. They asked that the Town submit a letter of intent as initial submission to the Maine Natural Resource Conservation Program this year to support site design, engineering, etc. Steve Christianson questioned the need for the plan or possible gain and looked forward to comments from other residents. Sarah Whitfield said the board is looking for public comment on the plan. She added that the letter of intent, which has been discussed, is non-binding and is only the first step in the process. Pam Dunning moved to approve submitting the Letter of Intent for the Pleasant Street Extension Restoration Project. Vote 4-1-0 (Andretta opposed).

11. New Business

- a. Monthly Financials
 - Year to date expense/revenue reports
 - H.M.Payson Statement of Accounts
- b. Resignation of Susan Robson, Waterfront Committee: **Terry Heller moved to accept the** resignation of Susan Robson from the Waterfront Committee with regret and thanks for her long years of service. Vote 5-0-0.
- c. Annual Town Manager's appointments: Aaron Chrostowsky, Economic Development Director, was added to the list of appointees submitted in the Town Manager's Report. Pam Dunning moved to appoint the Annual Town Manager Appointments as recommended. Vote 5-0-0.
- d. Annual Selectboard Appointments: Pam Dunning moved to appoint George Chase as Code Enforcement Officer, Plumbing Inspector, Building Inspector and Sign Officer; Lawrence Hesseltine as Harbormaster: and Callie Fairservice as Deputy Harbormaster. Vote 5-0-0.

12. Assessors Business

13. Town Manager's Report

The Town Manager congratulated Sarah Whitfield, James Andretta and Bill Maloney on their reelection to the selectboard.

Simmons asked the board to confirm the following annual Town Manager's department head appointments – July 1, 2024 to June 30, 2025: Aaron Chrostowsky-Economic Development Director; Erin Bean, Emergency Medical Services Chief; Robert Bickford, Fire Chief; Lawrence Hesseltine, Police Chief, Constable; Ted Snowden, Public Works Director, Road Commissioner, Transfer Station Manager; Robert Lalli, Wastewater Treatment Plant Superintendent; Rick Tetrev, Airport Manager; Duane Goud, Parks and Recreation Director, Community Center Director.

Simmons reported he had heard from Senator Angus King's office that the Senator will be including \$6 million in his requests for Congressionally Directed Spending for the government's FY'25 budget year. Should the request survive the process, the amount approved will total \$11 million toward the cost of relocation of the WWTP.

14. Other Board Business

At 6:42, Pam Dunning moved to enter Executive Session pursuant to 1 M.R.S.A. § 405 (6) (E). Vote 5-0-0. Pam Dunning moved to exit Executive Session at 7:14 p.m. Vote 5-0-0.

15. Adjournment

Bill Maloney moved to adjourn the meeting at 7:15 p.m. Vote 5-0-0.